8th International Conference on Pattern Recognition and Machine Intelligence
December 17-20, 2019
Organized by
Tezpur University (TU), Tezpur, India
in collaboration with
Machine Intelligence Unit, Indian Statistical Institute (ISI), Kolkata, India
Department of EEE, Indian Institute of Technology Guwahati (IIT Guwahati), India

Invited Speakers
Professor Pushpak Bhattacharyya
Director, IIT Patna
Vijay and Sita Vashee Chair Professor, IIT Bombay
Fellow, National Academy of Engineering
Past President, Association for Computational Linguistics

Prof. Pushpak Bhattacharyya is the recent past President of Association for Computational Linguistics (2016-17). He is the Director of IIT Patna and Vijay and Sita Vashee Chair Professor in IIT Bombay, Computer Science and Engineering Department. He has been visiting scholar and faculty in MIT, Stanford, UT Houston and University Joseph Fouriere (France). A highly recognized researcher, he is a member of National Knowledge Commission: task force on translation, set up by the Prime Minister of India and Committee on Language Technology, set up by the Planning Commission of India, 2006. For his outstanding contribution to CS, he has received many accolades including IBM Innovation award (2007), Yahoo Faculty Award (2011), P. K. Patwardhan Award for Technology Development (2008), and VNMM Award of IIT Roorkee (2014). He is also an associate editor of ACM Transaction of Asian Language Information Processing (TALIP) (since 2011), chair of lexical resources committee of Asian Federation of NLP and board member of Global Wordnet Association. Prof. Bhattacharyya is member of the Committee to decide Language Technology Policy, Ministry of Human Resources Development (MHRD). He specializes in NLP, ML, MT, Cross Lingual IR (CLIR) and IE. Recently his text book "Machine Translation" has been published by CRC Press, USA.

Professor C. V. Jawahar
Fellow, IAPR and INAE
Amazon Chair professor
Centre for Visual Information Technology
IIIT Hyderabad, India.

Prof. C. V. Jawahar is the Amazon Chair professor at IIIT Hyderabad, India. He received his PhD from IIT Kharagpur and has been with IIIT Hyderabad since 2000. At IIIT Hyderabad, Jawahar leads a group focusing on computer vision and machine learning. In the recent years, he has been looking into a set of problems that overlap with vision, language and learning. He is also interested in applications in road safety, assistive technologies, healthcare, education, cultural heritage and entertainment. He has served as a chair for previous editions of ACCV, WACV, IJCAI, ICDAR, ICCV and ICVGIP. Presently, he is an area editor of CVIU and an associate editor of IEEE PAMI. He is also a program co-chair for ICDAR 2017 and ACCV 2018. He is a Fellow of IAPR and INAE.

Professor Sudip Misra
IEEE Senior Member
Humboldt Fellow (Germany), NASI Fellow (India),
IETE Fellow (India), IET Fellow (UK), RSPH Fellow (UK)
Department of Computer Science and Engineering,
Indian Institute of Technology Kharagpur, India.

Prof. Sudip Misra is a full Professor in the Department of Computer Science and Engineering at the Indian Institute of Technology Kharagpur. Prior to this he was associated with Cornell University (USA), Yale University (USA), Nortel Networks (Canada) and the Government of Ontario (Canada). His current research interests include mobile ad hoc and sensor networks, internet of things (IoT), computer networks, and learning systems. Prof. Misra has been serving as the Editor of IEEE Transactions on Vehicular Technology, Associate Editor of the IEEE Transactions on Mobile Computing, and IEEE Systems Journal, International Journal of Communication Systems (Wiley), and IET Communications Journal. Prof. Misra has published 10 books in the areas of opportunistic networks, wireless ad hoc networks, wireless sensor networks, wireless mesh networks, communication networks and distributed systems, network reliability and fault tolerance, and information and coding theory, published by reputed publishers such as Springer, Cambridge University Press, Wiley, and World Scientific.

Dr. Animesh Mukherjee
Associate Professor,
Department of Computer Science & Engineering
Indian Institute of Technology, Kharagpur, India.

Dr. Animesh Mukherjee is an Associate Professor in the Department of Computer Science and Engineering, Indian Institute of Technology, Kharagpur. His main research interests are in applying complex system approaches (mainly complex networks and agent-based simulations) to different problems in Computer Science. He regularly serves on the program committee of various top conferences like IJCAI, EMNLP, COLING, IEEE/ACM JCDL, IEEE GLOBECOM. His work has received media attention from various agencies including MIT Tech Review, BBC, Guardian etc. He has received many notable awards including the Humboldt Fellowship for Experienced Researchers (2018 - 2021), Simons Associate, ICTP, Italy (2014-2019), Gandhian Young Technological Innovation Award (2017), IBM Faculty Award 2015, INSA Medal Young Scientists 2014 and INAE Young Engineering Award 2012 among many others.

Professor Sanjoy Kumar Saha
Professor, Department of Computer Science & Engineering
Jadavpur University, Kolkata, India.

Prof. Sanjoy Kumar Saha received the B.E. and M.E. degrees in electronics and tele-communication engineering from Jadavpur University, West Bengal, India, in 1990 and 1992, respectively, and the Ph.D. degree from Bengal Engineering and Science University, West Bengal, India, in 2006. Currently, he is working as a Professor in the Computer Science and Engineering Department of Jadavpur University. His research interests are in the area of image processing, video processing, multimedia data retrieval, and pattern recognition.