## ANNEXURE – II

# Details of teachers who have received national recognition for teaching research, consultancy & extension

#### **Department of Chemical Sciences**

- Prof. N. S. Islam, nominated as Council member for 3 years w.e.f. 2011, of Chemical Research Society of India (CRSI), Bangalore.
- Prof. S. K. Dolui received National Technology Innovation Award, 2012 from Department of Chemicals and Petrochemicals, Ministry of Chemicals and Fertilizer for R & D work in the field of polymer science and technology.
- Prof. N. Karak received Dr. Arvind Kumar Memorial Award by Indian Council of Chemists (ICC), 2012.
- Prof. N. Karak received Dr. J. N. Baruah Memorial Science Award, in chemical Science, by JNBMT & Assam Science Society, 2012.
- Prof. R.C. Deka received Bronze Medal, Chemical Research Society of India (CRSI) 2013.
- Prof. R.C. Deka received Professor H. C. Goswami award by Assam Science Society, 2013.

#### **Department of Computer Science and Engineering**

- Prof. D. K. Bhattacharyya nominated as Associate Editor-in-Chief for an International Journal (JCIT) of Korea.
- Prof. D. K. Bhattacharyya nominated as Member of MIR (Machine Intelligence Research) Laboratory and IAPR (Int'nl Association of Pattern Recognition)
- ◆ Prof. D. K. Bhattacharyya became Member of Editorial Board in IJIIP
- Prof. D. K. Bhattacharyya served as Review/Monitoring committee member of DIT, AICTE and MIT.
- ◆ Prof. D. K. Bhattacharyya elected as Fellow member of IETE.
- Prof. S. K. Sinha was a member of National Commission for Science and Technology Terminology.
- Prof. S. M. Hazarika nominated as Member of IASTED Technical committee on Robotics 2007-2010.
- ◆ Prof. S. M. Hazarika as Guest Co-editor of Spatial Cognition and computation.
- Prof. S. M. Hazarika as Member, European Science Foundation COST ACTION MOVE: knowledge discovery from moving objects.
- ✤ Prof. N. Sarma elected as Fellow member of IETE.

### **Department of Electronics and Communication Engineering**

- Prof. P. P. Sahu received INSA Teachers Award (2013) for consistent and high level of teaching and research instituted by Indian National Science Academy.
- Dr. N. M. Kakoty awarded 1st Position in IEEE Best Student Award Contests 2012 for the Project under guidance "EMG Controlled Three Fingered Robotic Hand".

## **Department of Energy**

- Prof. D. C. Baruah received the ISAE (Indian Society of Agricultural Engineers) Commendation Medal for outstanding contributions in the area of Energy in Agriculture, 2011.
- Dr. R. Kataki was awarded Member of the Working Group #2: Asia/Europe/Australia/New Zealand, formed by International Biochar Initiative (IBI) for Biochar Characterization Standards Development.

## **Department of Food Engineering and Technology**

Dr. R. K. Duary received Jawaharlal Nehru Best Ph. D Thesis award in processing group instituted by ICAR, submitted from NDRI, Karnal, Haryana.

## Department of Molecular Biology and Biotechnology

- Prof. B. K. Konwar appointed as the Vice Chancellor of Nagaland University, Nagaland.
- Prof. A. K. Buragohain appointed the Vice Chancellor of Dibrugarh University, Assam.
- Prof. A. K. Mukherjee selected for "National Bioscience Award for Career Development 2013" by the Department of Biotechnology, Ministry of Science and Technology, Govt. of India.
- Prof. A. K. Mukherjee received the DBT-CREST Award-2010 of Department of Biotechnology, Ministry of Science and Technology, Govt. of India for advance training and research at University of Northern Colorado, Greeley, USA (2011-2012)
- Prof. A. K. Mukherjee nominated and conferred the position of Associate Faculty (Professor), School of Biological Sciences, University of Northern Colorado, Greeley, USA.
- Prof. A. K. Mukherjee: Editor-in-Chief, Toxinological Society of India (TSI) Newsletter, Kolkata, India.
- Prof. A. K. Mukherjee: Member, Star College Scheme Task Force, Department of Biotechnology, Ministry of Science and Technology, Govt. of India.
- Prof. A. K. Mukherjee: recipient of Units of Excellence Award (2013-2016) in NER by the Department of Biotechnology, Ministry of Science and Technology, Govt. of India.
- Prof. A. K. Mukherjee: Sectional Committee Member (2011-2012), New Biology section, Indian Science Congress Association, Kolkata.

- Prof. A. K. Mukherjee: Sectional Co-Chairman and Member of the Scientific Organization Committee17th World Congress on Venoms and Toxins organized by International Society on Toxinology, Honolulu, Hawaii, USA, July, 2012.
- ◆ Prof. S. Baruah: Member of the DBT Task Force for Human Resource Development.
- ◆ Dr. S. K. Ray: Awarded the DBT Overseas Associateship for NER to work overseas.
- Dr. S. K. Ray: Recipient of Units of Excellence Award (2013-2016) in NER by the Department of Biotechnology, Ministry of Science and Technology, Govt. of India.
- Dr. A. Ramteke: Awarded the DBT Overseas Associateship for NER to work overseas.
- Dr. M. Mandal: Awarded the DBT Overseas Associateship for NER to work overseas.
- Dr. R. Mukhopadhyay: Recipient of Units of Excellence Award (2013-2016) in NER by the Department of Biotechnology, Ministry of Science and Technology, Govt. of India.

#### **Department of Physics**

- Prof. Rajpal S. Sirohi: Distinguished Alumni Award by IIT Delhi during its Convocation on Nov. 19, 2013.
- Prof. Rajpal S. Sirohi: Vikram Award by International Society for Optical Engineering (SPIE) USA on Feb. 10, 2014.
- Prof. A. Kumar: Awarded Commonwealth Academic Fellowship-2014 for research at Queen Mary University UK.
- Dr. R. Gogoi: Selected as IUCAA Associate for three years during Aug, 2013-July, 2016.
- Dr. R. Gogoi: Selected as International member of "International Science Development Team" (ISDT), Thirty Meter Telescope (TMT) to be built in Hawaii.