# Annual Report 2018-19 SCHOOL OF ENGINEERING Tezpur University

The School of Engineering (SoE) of Tezpur University was established in the year 2006 with the introduction of B. Tech. programmes in three disciplines. There are now nine departments at the School of Engineering.

- 1. CE (Civil Engineering)
- 2. CSE (Computer Science and Engineering)
- 3. ECE (Electronics and Communication Engineering)
- 4. EE (Electrical Engineering)
- 5. Energy
- 6. FET (Food Engineering and Technology)
- 7. Design
- 8. Applied Science
- 9. ME (Mechanical Engineering)

The six constituents Departments (CE,CSE,ECE, EE, FET, and ME) of the School are now offering B. Tech programmes in the same way CSE, ECE, ME,FET, CE, are offering Master of Technology programmes and a MCA programme are also being offered by the CSE Departments under the School. Except the Department of Electrical Engineering, Design and Applied Science all other departments also offer PhD programmes. This school strives to produce skilled professionals at UG, PG as well as Doctoral levels. The Departments are actively pursuing externally funded research projects and both faculty and students are engaged in developing innovative technologies.

The School has been proactive in strengthening the teaching learning experience of the students in order to enhance the knowledge and employability of its graduates. The School has judiciously used the fund received from AICTE-NEQIP grant in developing and augmenting class room and laboratory facilities and enhancing faculty quality so that the overall learning process is able to keep pace with the changing global scenario of technical education.

During the period, several significant works were performed and important events were organized in the School as mentioned below in brief:

 Submission of application to AICTE for extension of approval of existing courses of Engineering, MBA and MCA.

### The AICTE approved existing courses are:

- M. Tech in Bioelectronics
- M. Tech in Electronics Design and Technology
- M. Tech in Energy Technology
- M. Tech in Food Engineering and Technology
- M. Tech in Information Technology
- M. Tech in Mechanical Engineering,
- M. Tech in Computer Science and Engineering
- M. Tech in Civil Engineering
- B. Tech in Civil Engineering
- B. Tech in Computer Science and Engineering
- B. Tech in Electrical Engineering
- B. Tech in Electronics and Communication Engineering

- B. Tech in Food Engineering and Technology
- B. Tech in Mechanical Engineering

Master of Computer Application
Master of Business Administration

- Upgradation of common facilities and Smart class rooms with a sitting capacity of 180 students in Lecture Hall 1 & 2, Dean's building.
- Creation of independent Language Lab and upgradation of labs for non engineering first year courses enhancement of Books in Central Library of common requirements of first year students.
- Provisional 03 year NBA Accreditation for B. Tech programmes is extended up to 2021. Preparation for permanent accreditation of M. Tech by NBA is underway.
- AICTE GATE link Scholarship
  - 72 M. Tech (I and II year) students received AICTE GATE linked Scholarship.
- 01 QIP scholars selected for carrying out pre-registration visit for the academic year 2019-20 for formal joining in the academic year 2020-21.

### THE PERSONNEL OF THE OFFICE OF THE DEAN

# Dean, School of Engineering

Prof. Smriti Kumar Sinha, PhD
Professor, Dept. of Computer Science and Engineering
E-mail: deansoe@tezu.ernet.in

## Office Staff

J. C. Das, Diploma (SCTE, Assam)
Sr Technical Assistant
E-mail: djibon@tezu.ernet.in

Uttam Roy, MA (Tezpur University)
UDC

E-mail: uttamroy@tezu.ernet.in

D Mahanta MTS