Annual Report 2017-2018 SCHOOL OF ENGINEERING

The School of Engineering (SoE) of Tezpur University was established in the year 2006 with the introduction of B.Tech. programmes in three disciplines. The School now is offering B.Tech. programmes in six disciplines, viz., Computer Science and Engineering, Electronics and Communication Engineering, Mechanical Engineering, Food Engineering and Technology, Civil Engineering and Electrical Engineering. Five PG programmes are being conducted viz., Computer Science and Engineering, Electronics and Communication Engineering, Mechanical Engineering, Food Engineering and Technology, and Energy Technology. Ph.D. programmes in all disciplines except Electrical Engineering are also being offered. This school strives to produce skilled professionals at UG, PG as well as doctoral levels. The Departments are actively pursuing externally funded research projects and both faculty and students are engaged in developing innovative technologies.

The school has been proactive in strengthening the teaching learning experience of the students in order to enhance the knowledge and employability of its graduates. The school has judiciously used the fund received from AICTE-NEQIP grant in developing and enhancing class room and laboratory facilities so that the overall learning process is able to keep pace with the changing global scenario of technical education.

During the period, several significant events have been organized in the school including the following prominent activities.

• Submission of application to AICTE for extension of approval of existing courses and approval of new courses of Engineering, MBA and MCA.

The AICTE approved existing courses are:

M.Tech in Bioelectronics; Electronics Design and Technology; Energy Technology; Information Technology; Food Engineering and Technology; Mechanical Engineering; and B. Tech in Electronics and Communication Engineering; Computer Science and Engineering; Civil Engineering; Mechanical Engineering; Food Engineering and Technology; Electrical Engineering; MBA; and MCA.

The AICTE approved new course is: M. Tech in Civil Engineering (to be implemented from 2018-19).

- Implementation of Institutional Development activities against the Third Instalment for the School of Engineering (2014-2017) amounting to Rs. 189.22 Lakh.
- Creation of common facilities Smart class room with a sitting capacity of 180 students in Lecture Hall 1 & 2.
- Creation of infrastructure for independent Language Lab, creation of labs for non engineering first year labs, enhancement of Central Books in Central Library of common requirements of first year students.
- Introduction of new AICTE curriculum at B. Tech level.
- Provisional 02 year Accreditation of NBA for B. Tech programmes extended up to 03 years.
 Preparation of NBA accreditation for M. Tech and B. Tech programmes for permanent accreditation.
- Induction programme for first year B. Tech programmes
- AICTE GATE link Scholarship

 Disbursement of AICTE GATE linked Scholarship to a total 114 M Tech 1st year and 2nd year students.
- Financial Support for Faculty Development Programme

From AICTE NEQIP grant following departments have organized FDP, Seminar and workshops.

FDP: 02 by CSE, 01 by ME, 01 by ECE, 01 by EE, 01 by FET, 01 by ENE

Seminar: 01 by Civil

As part of Faculty and Staff Development Scheme of AICTE-NEQIP, 22 faculty members availed the facility to attend conferences and workshop within India with travel, accommodation and registration support.

- 03 QIP scholar has completed pre registration visit for the academic year 2017-18; for formal joining in the academic year 2018-19.
- 03 QIP scholar is selected for carry out pre registration visit in the academic year 2018-19.
- Admission under Defence Quota

06 students admitted under Defence Quota in the academic year 2017-18.

• Admission under PMSSS J&K

04 students admitted under PMSSS J&K in the academic year 2017-18.

AQIS Proposal submitted under SoE

04 MODROBS submitted: 01 for ECE

01 for ME

01 for Energy

01 for FET

04 RPS submitted: 01 for ECE

01 for ME

01 for Energy

01 for FET

01 Hostel for SC/ST Students submitted for Tezpur University

01 Short Term Training Program submitted.

02 Travel Grant Scheme submitted: 01 ECE

01 FET

AQIS Proposal submitted under MBA/MCA

01 MODROBS submitted: 01 for MCA

01 RPS submitted for MCA.

Dean, School of Engineering

Professor C L Mahanta

E-mail: charu@tezu.ernet.in

THE STAFF OF THE OFFICE OF THE DEAN

Sr. Technical Assistant

J. C. Das, Diploma (SCTE, Assam)

E-mail: djibon@tezu.ernet.in

UDC

U. Roy, PGDTM, MA in Mass Com. (Tezpur University)

E-mail: uttamroy@tezu.ernet.in

MTS

D. Mahanta