Tezpur University Vice Chancellor in the Autonomy Panel of the Government of India

The government has set up a committee to evolve a comprehensive policy on autonomy for Central universities, the Indian Institutes of Technology and the Indian Institutes of Management.

The committee, headed by Professor Madhava Menon, will have as members Sayed Hasnain, Vice-Chancellor, Hyderabad University; Pankaj Chandra, Director, IIM Bangalore; M.S. Ananth, Director, IIT Madras; and *Mihir Chaudhuri, Vice-Chancellor, Tezpur University*. Ved Prakash, Vice-Chairman, University Grants Commission, will be the convener.

There are three special invitees: UGC Chairman S.K. Thorat, All India Council for Technical Education Chairman S.S. Mantha; and Indira Gandhi National Open University Vice-Chancellor V.N. Rajasekharan Pillai.

This information was given by Minister of State for Human Resource Development D. Purandeswari in a written reply in the Lok Sabha.

For more detilas visit following urls: http://www.thehindu.com/news/national/article580801.ece
http://www.telegraphindia.com/1100819/jsp/nation/story 12828495.jsp