तेजप्र विश्वविद्यालय / TEZPUR UNIVERSITY

(केंद्रीय विश्वविद्यालय /A Central University)

कुलाध्यक्ष का सर्वोत्तम विश्वविदयालय प्रस्कार,2016 Visitor's Best University Award, 2016

Media Cell

तेजप्र-784028 :: असम / TEZPUR-784028 :: ASSAM

President of India awards TU Scholars for Innovation

20/03/2018

The President of India, Shri Ram Nath Kovind, inaugurated the Festival of Innovation and Entrepreneurship (FINE) and presented the Gandhian Young Technological Innovation (GYTI) Awards to grassroots innovators, including two research scholars of Tezpur University at Rashtrapati Bhavan yesterday (March 19, 2018). FINE, an initiative to recognise, respect and to foster a supportive ecosystem for innovators, is being organised by Rashtrapati Bhavan in association with the Department of Science and Technology, Government of India and the National Innovation Foundation from March 19 to 23, 2018.



Ms Pallabi Das, Dept. of Environmental Science and Ms Kasturi Sarmah of Dept. of Chemical Sciences, Tezpur University (TU) were awarded the prestigious GYTI Award 2018 for their innovative work on large-scale synthetic routes to manufacture iron(oxalate) capped metal oxide [Fe(ox)-Fe304 (OCIO), Fe(ox)Fe-MnOx (OCIMn), and Fe(ox)Fe-CuOx (OCICu)] nanomaterials that are wonderful soil conditioners for increasing micronutrient availability to plants with least toxicity (Patent application no. 201631010727). The materials augmented crop production by 3-4 folds with 8-10 folds lower dose than traditional micronutrient fertilizers and other overall high economic benefit. It is mention-worthy that the award was bagged by a research scholar of TU; Mr. Iftak Hussain of dept. of Physics last year also.



Ms. Das and Ms. Sarmah were conducting the research work under the guidance of Dr. Satya Sundar Bhattacharya, Dept. of Environmental Science and Dr. Sanjay Pratihar, Dept. of Chemical Sciences, TU. The whole team was felicitated during the function. The GYTI award is comprised of a memento, citations, and a project grant of Rs. 15, 00,000 (Fifteen Lakhs). The award celebrates the spirit of

student innovation in all the fields of engineering, science, technology and design through extremely affordable/frugal solution or the ones pushing the technological edge.



Dr. Harsh Vardhan, Union Minister for Science & Technology and Earth Sciences; Prof. Ashutosh Sharma, Secretary, Department of Science and Technology; Dr. R. A. Mashelkar, Chairperson, National Innovation Foundation and Prof. Anil Gupta, Vice-Chairperson, National Innovation Foundation were also present on the occasion.