





**Tezpur University** 

Tezpur University and CSIR-CIMAP is organizing one-day seminar on

## Aroma Crops for Boosting Rural Economy of North East India

Monday, the 15<sup>th</sup> October 2018 at 09:30 AM onwards, Council Hall, Tezpur University.

# About the seminar

The aim of this one-day seminar is to initiate a brainstorming exercise for devising strategies to promote cultivation, processing and marketing of high value aromatic and medicinal plants that could empower local farmers/ entrepreneurs of North East India. In this programme, scientist, farmers, enterpreneurs and industrialists are expected to participate and interact regarding future prospect of aromatic crops and their potential for boosting rural economy of the region. The deliberations in the seminar are expected to help in devising modalities for promotion of agripreneur of aroma products and will also contribute employment generation in the region. The experts will deliver lectures on the national and international status of essential oils and their economic significance. Discussions will be held to find ways that can support the farmers/entrepreneurs in terms of availability of infrastructure facility and technical know-how support from CSIR-CIMAP.

The possibilities for promotion of the business of aroma products in MSME mode will also be discussed during	Signing of I
the seminar. This day-long seminar will be followed by signing of MoU between Tezpur University and CSIR- CIMAP to strengthen the collaborations in the area of common academic interest and to promote the	09:30-09:35 09:35-09:40 09:40-09:45
cultivation, processing and value-chain of aromatic and medicinal plants suitable for North East India.	09:45-09:50
Patrons	09:50-10:00
Prof. V. K. Jain, Vice-Chancellor, Tezpur University Prof. A. K. Tripathi, Director, CSIR-CIMAP, Lucknow Advisory Committee	10:00-10:10
Prof. Dilip K. Saikia, Pro Vice-Chancellor, TU	
Prof. B. K. Konwar, Former Vice-Chancellor & Professor, TU	10:10-10:15
Prof. A. K. Buragohain, Former Vice-Chancellor & Professor, IU	10:15-10:20
Prof. Dhruba K. Bhattacharrya, Dean, Academic Affairs, TU Prof. A. K. Mukherjee, Dean, Research & Development, TU	10:20-10:40
Prof. D. C. Baruah, Director, IQAC, TU	10:50-11:20
Prof. Charu L. Mahanta, Dean, School of Engineering, TU	11:20-11:40
Prof. Utpal K. Das, Dean, Planning & Development, TU	11:40-12:00
Prof. Dhanapati Deka, Dean, Students Welfare, TU	
Prof. Prasanta K. Das, Dean, School of Humanities & Social Sciences, TU	12:00-12:20
Prof. Chandana Goswami, Dean, School of Management	12:20-12:40
Sciences, TU	12:40-13:00
Prof. Ashim J. Thakur, HoD, Dept. of Chemical Sciences, TU Dr. Biren Das, Registrar, TU	13:00-14:00
Dr. Lakhi Boral, Controller of Examinations, TU	
Organizing Committee Chairperson	14:30-14:50
Prof. R. C. Deka, Dean, School of Sciences, TU	14:50-15:10
Co-Chairpersons	
Prof. Anand Ramteke, HoD, MBBT, TU	15:10-15:30
Prof. S. K. Ray, Professor, TU	15:30-15:50
Prof. S. Baruah, Professor, TU	
Prof. M. Mandal, Professor, TU	15:50-16:50
Members	
Faculty members of MBBT, TU Conveners	
Dr. R. K. Srivastava, CSIR-CIMAP (📞 8004743355)	18:30-20:00
Dr. Nima D. Namsa, Tezpur University (📞 9401750922)	20:30-21:30

#### igning of MoU programme | Monday | 15<sup>th</sup> October 2018 Venue: Council Hall

:30-09:35	Lighting of inaugural lamp
9:35-09:40	Felicitation of guests
:40-09:45	Welcome address by the Chairperson,
	Organizing Committee
:45-09:50	Inaugural address by the Vice-
	Chancellor, Tezpur University
0:50-10:00	Address by the Director, CSIR-CIMAP,
	Lucknow
):00-10:10	Address by the Chief Guest Shri Mohd.
	Sirajuddin Ajmal, Hon'ble MP and
	Managing Director, AJMAL group
):10-10:15	Signing and exchange of MoU
):15-10:20	Vote of thanks by Head, MBBT & Co-
	Chairperson, Organizing Committee
):20-10:40	High Tea

#### **Technical sessions-I**

Prof. A.K. Tripathi, CSIR-CIMAP Dr. Alok Kalra, CSIR-CIMAP, Lucknow Mr. Ashish Jhunjhunwalla, AFF Aromatics Pvt. Ltd, Kolkata Dr. Mohan Lal, CSIR- NEIST, Jorhat Dr. R. K. Sud, CSIR-IHBT, Palampur Dr. Munir Ahmed, Flower Valley Agrotech Pvt. Ltd, Assam Lunch break

### **Technical sessions-II**

50	Dr. Milind Despande, Flower Valley
	Agrotech Pvt. Ltd, Assam
10	Dr. R. P. Bansal, MBDA, Govt. of
	Meghalaya
30	Dr. S. Gairola, CSIR-IIIM, Jammu
50	Mr. Ajay K. Jain, President, EOAI, New
	Delhi
50	Concluding remarks and panelists
	discussion
	(Coordinators: Prof. A. K. Tripathi and
	Prof. R. C. Deka)
00	Cultural programme at KBR auditorium
30	Dinner at guest house