About Tezpur: Tezpur is a historic city located in the northeastern part of India, in the state of Assam. It is situated on the banks of the Brahmaputra River and is known for its rich cultural heritage, natural beauty, and strategic importance. Tezpur is approximately 175 kilometers (109 miles) northeast of Assam's capital city, Guwahati. Tezpur city is surrounded by picturesque hills and tea gardens, making it a scenic location. Tezpur has a long and storied history, dating back to ancient times. It was known as "Sonitpur" in ancient Indian texts, and it was the capital of the demon king Banasura. The city also has historical ties to the Ahom Kingdom and was a significant battleground during various historical conflicts.

About the University: Tezpur University was established by an Act of Parliament in 1994. The objects of this Central University as envisaged in the statutes are that it shall strive to offer employmentoriented and interdisciplinary courses to meet the local and regional aspirations and the development needs of the state of Assam and also offer courses and promote research in areas that are of special and direct relevance to the region and in emerging areas in Science and Technology. The university campus is at Napaam about 15 km east of Tezpur, the headquarters of the Sonitpur district of Assam. Napaam is a rural area. The Napaam campus is on 262 acres (1.06 km2) of land, bounded by pucca walls Napaam is linked by a PWD road from National Highway No. 37A at almost the midpoint between the Kalia-Bhomora bridge and Misson Chariali. Tezpur is linked by road and rail with the rest of the state and the country. There is a triweekly flight between Kolkata and Tezpur.

About the Department: The Department of Molecular Biology and Biotechnology (MBBT) is supported by UGC-SAP DRS II and DST-FIST. It was established on July 24, 1997. The department got recognition from the Department of Biotechnology (DBT) of the Ministry of Science and Technology, Government of India for its postgraduate program in 1998. The department offers a two-year M. Sc degree in Molecular Biology and Biotechnology, a five-year Integrated M Sc in Life Science, and PhD in Molecular Biology and Biotechnology. Faculty members of the department are trained in advanced research areas of Biology from various Internationally reputed Institutes and are actively involved in research

About the symposium: the symposium coincides with the visit of Prof. Steven E. Lindow, UC Berkely USA to India as B. P. Pal Chair Professor INSA India. Prof. Lindow will visit Tezpur University from 24 to 27 November 2023. Professor Lindow is internationally well known in the field of plant pathology and microbiology. He has made significant contributions to our understanding of plant-microbe interactions, particularly in the context of plant diseases and plant defense mechanisms. His research primarily focuses on the biology of plant-pathogen interactions, with an emphasis on understanding the mechanisms by which plant-associated microbes, including both beneficial and pathogenic microorganisms, interact with plants. There are several renowned resource persons will be joining the symposium from reputed Institutes of the country. The major focus is going to be interactions among the researchers on plantmicrobe interactions.

Highlights of the Symposium:

- 1. Interaction with foreign distinguished scientist Prof. Steven E. Lindow, B P Pal Chair Professor, INSA India.
- 2. Several distinguished researchers in the field of plantmicrobe interaction will be delivering the talk
- 3. Panel discussion
- 4. Oral and Poster presentation



INTERNATIONAL SYMPOSIUM ON PLANT-MICROBE INTERACTIONS

24th November to 25th November, 2023



Organized by:
Department of molecular Biology and
Biotechnology
Tezpur university, Tezpur
Assam-784028

Tentative schedule Day-1 (Nov 24, 2023)

12: 30 pm to 02: 00 pm: Registration cum Lunch

02: 00 pm to 03: 30 pm: Poster session

03: 30 pm to 04: 00 pm: Inauguration

04: 00 pm to 04: 40 pm: Talk by Prof. Lindow

04: 40 pm to 05: 10 pm: Tea cum discussion

05: 10 pm to 05: 30 pm: Talk by Dr. P.B Patil

05: 30 pm to 05: 50 pm: Talk by Prof. L. Sahoo

05: 50 pm to 06:20 pm: Panel Discussion 06: 30 pm to 07: 30 pm: Cultural evening

08: 00 pm to 09: 00 pm: Dinner

Day-2 (Nov 25, 2023)

08: 30 am to 10: 00 am: Breakfast cum Poster session

10: 00 am to 10: 20 am: Prof. Jagreet Kaur

10: 20 am to 10: 40 am: Dr. Gopaljee Jha

10: 40 am to 11: 00 am: Dr. Alok Pandey

11: 00 am to 11: 20 am: Panel Discussion

11: 20 am to 11: 40 am: Tea Break

11: 40 am to 12: 00 pm: **Dr R Ramanan**

12: 00 pm to 12: 20 pm: Dr. Hitendra Kumar Patel

12: 20 pm to 12: 40 pm: Dr. Anurag Kasyap

12: 40 pm to 01: 00 pm: Panel Discussion

01: 00 pm to 02: 00 pm: Lunch

02: 00 pm to 03: 00 pm: Poster session and tea

03: 00 pm to 03: 15 pm: Dr. Niraj Agarwala

03: 15 pm to 03: 30 pm: **Dr. Niraj Singh**

03: 30 pm to 03: 45 pm: Dr. Dr. Pankaj Loshan Sarma

03: 45 pm to 04: 00 pm: Dr. Kristi Kabyashree

04: 00 pm to 04: 30 pm: Panel discussion

04: 30 pm to 04: 50 pm: **Tea break**

04: 50 pm to 06: 20 pm: Poster talks (10 poster talks)

08: 00 pm to 09: 00 pm: **Dinner**



Prof. Steven E. Lindow

Professor of Plant Pathology, Department of Plant and Microbial Biology, University of California, Berkeley B P Pal Chair Professor INSA India



Dr. P.B. Patil IMTECH, Chandigarh



Prof. L. Sahoo IITG, Guwahati



Dr. Gopaljee Jha NIPGR, Delhi



Prof. Jagreet Kaur DU, Delhi

Dr. H.K. Patel

CCMB, Hyderabad



Dr. R. Ramanan, CCMB, Hyderabad



Dr. Alok Pandey CSJMU, Kanpur



Dr. A. Kashyap AAU, Jorhat

Chief Patron

Prof. Shambhu Nath Singh Vice -Chancellor Tezpur University, Tezpur

Patron

Ashutosh Sharma President INSA, New Delhi

National Advisory Committee:

Prof. R. V. Sonti, Director, ICGEB, New Delhi

Prof. R. C. Deka, Vice Chancellor, Cotton University, Guwahati

Dr. R. Ramanan, (Retired Scientist) CCMB Hyderabad

Dr. Subhadeep Chatterjee, Scientist CDFD, Hyderabad

Prof. L. Sahoo, IIT Guwahati

Dr. P. B. Patil, IMTEH Chandigarh

Prof. Jagreet Kaur, DU, Delhi

Dr. Gopaljee Jha, NIPGR New Delhi

Prof. Manabendra Mandal, MBBT

Prof. R. Mukhopadhyay, Head, Dept of MBBT, Tezpur

University

Local Organizing Committee

Convenor: Prof. Suvendra K. Ray Department of MBBT, Tezpur University Co-convenor: Dr. Aditya Kumar

Department of MBBT, Tezpur University

Faculty Members and staff, Dept of MBBT, Tezpur University

Registration

Interested candidates may send email to the co-convenor (aditya@tezu.ac.in) or convenor (suven@tezu.ac.in) with

below details:

Participants Name:

Present address:

Abstract for oral/poster presentations:

Accommodation requirement (own cost):