Supported under UGC-SAP and DST-FIST


    The Department of Mathematical Sciences was started in July, 1994 as one of the first three departments of Tezpur University with the objective of producing trained manpower for undertaking research and teaching in mathematics and allied branches of basic and applied sciences. It also aimed to groom trained mathematicians for problem solving in industry and other concerns. Apart from offering Masters degree in Mathematics( 2 yr and Integrated 5 yr programmes) it offers a 4-yr Integrated B.Sc. B.Ed. programme in mathematics. The department also offers research in areas such as Number theory (Ramanujan's Mathematics), Discrete Probability Distributions, Combinatorial optimization, Algebra, Fuzzy mathematics, Topology and applications, Operator Theory and applications, Finite element method etc. Several projects under the sponsorship of the Department of Science and Technology (DST), Indian Space Research Organisation (ISRO), University Grants Commission (UGC) and Council for Scientific and Industrial Research (CSIR) have been completed by the department. Several other projects under the sponsorship of various organizations are running in the department.
   Alumni of the department are engaged in various universities, research institutes, colleges, other institutions as well as different software and other organisations.Currently there are seventeen faculty members. There are two technical staff who look after the computer laboratory. The department is currently supported under UGC-SAP (DRS-I) and DST-FIST 2012 grants.


Department of Mathematical Sciences
School of Sciences
Tezpur University
Napaam, Sonitpur, Assam-784 028

Best Viewed in Mozilla Firefox with 1024x768 resolution