M. Tech. in Energy Technology

The Department is offering two years AICTE approved M. Tech programme in Energy Technology from the year 2000. The Alumni of the department are working in organizations/Institutes like Nagoya Institute of Technology, Japan, GE Energy, TERI, BOSCH, Bangalore, SGS India, New Delhi, MNRE, Tezpur University, NEHU, NERIST, SMIT, AMITY University, MANIT, Bhopal etc. Apart from that, the alumni are also doing PhD/PDF at IIT Delhi, IIT Bombay, IIT Guwahati, NUS, Singapore, NTU, Singapore, University of Exeter, UK, Cardiff University, UK,  etc.

The main objectives of the course are:

  • to provide trained manpower for energy planning, management and implementation of various new and renewable energy programmes in the National and State level departments/agencies and as well as private sector.

  • to provide trained energy auditors/managers;

  • to undertake and provide trained manpower for research, development and consultancy work in the energy related fields.

Intake 28

B. E./ B. Tech./ AMIE or equivalent in Mechanical / Electrical / Electronics / Instrumentation/ Chemical/ Agricultural Engineering/ Energy Engineering or M. Sc. in Physics and Chemistry with a minimum of 50 % marks in aggregate.

Admission Procedure
  • 18 seat are filled through valid GATE score.

  • Rest of the seats are filled on the basis of performance in the Tezpur University Entrance Examination

  • 5 seats are reserved for sponsored candidates (have to qualify in the Tezpur University Entrance Examination)
  • Reservation of seats for SC/ST/OBC and other category candidates are as per rules prescribed by the Central Government.

  • MHRD Scholarships for GATE qualified students

  • MNRE Scholarships for GATE qualified students
  • State Government Scholarships 

  • UGC Scholarships for SC/ST Students etc

  • ONGC scholarship for topper in first semester