Tezpur University | Library | Photo Gallery | Webmail
For best view of the website, install Google Chrome
News & Notifications
OrganiX 2018: International Conference


Department welcomes newly joined faculty members, August, 2018. Click here

Tezpur University features in the Top 20 Small Universities in the World, August, 2018. Click here

Prof. Ramesh Ch. Deka has been admitted as Secretary to serve as Office-Bearer for CSI; August, 2018. Click here

Prof. Niranjan Karak has been admitted as Fellow of Royal Society of Chemistry, April 2018. Click here

TU achieves new milestone; now ranks 100th in Asia, 7th in India; Feb, 2018. Click here

2018's Gandhian Young Technological Innovation (GYTI) Award conferred to Dr. Sanjay Pratihar and Miss Kasturi Sarmah for excellent innovation of Agricultural Fertilizer in colleboration with Dr. S. S. Bhattacharya, March, 2018.

Congratulations to Dr. Progyashree Goswami, Bitupon Borthakur and Kabirun Ahmed for their outstanding performance in ETCS 2018 in Dibrugarh University, Feb, 2018.

Prof. Ramesh Ch. Deka has been admitted as Fellow of Royal Society of Chemistry, Dec 2017. Click here

Patent on Arsiron Nilogon has been granted to Dr. Robin K. Dutta (Patent No. 280737), Feb 2017.

Visitor’s (President of India) Award for Research conferred to Prof. Niranjan Karak, 2017.

INSA Young Scientist Award to Dr. Sanjay Pratihar, 2017.


Department of Chemical Sciences is one of the most active department of prestigious Best Visitor's Award winning educational institute, Tezpur University. Decorated by well-trained and extremely motivated faculty as well as bright students, the department constantly strives to maintain a culture of excellence in research and uphold the highest standards in chemical education. The Department of Chemical Sciences was started in the year 1997, when it offered M. Sc. course in Polymer Science. From July 2006 the Department has been offering M. Sc. program in Applied Chemistry with specialization in Catalysis, Medicinal Chemistry and Polymer Chemistry. The Department consists of 15 research laboratories, 3 M. Tech. laboratories and 5 M.Sc. laboratories. This Department is supported by DST-FIST and UGC-SAP (DRS-II) level.

Faculty members are actively engaged in high quality research in chemical sciences as well as interdisciplinary topics. There are several international collaborative projects are going on apart from many national collaborative projects. Few faculty members are also running consultancy projects. External funds are received from DST, UGC, CSIR, DBT, DAE, AICTE etc.

Our alumni are well placed across the globe and have contributed significantly in their respective domains.

From the HoD's Desk
Dr. Ashim Jyoti Thakur

To generate a pool of skilled and knowledgeable human resource that will be in service of nation and society and will take forward the nation and society through their leadership, hard work, honesty and creativity.
Chemistry being central science, it is our mission to become a centre of excellence pertaining to quality teaching and research by providing world class advanced infrastructure, facility and basic amenities.
The department puts on record the general support rendered by different government, public and private enterprizes such as OIL, ONGC, NGOs, Reliance, Asian Paints, NRL, Burger Paints etc for recruiting our human resources.
Total Visitors

Updated on Nov 2018, Copyright © Department of Chemical Sciences, Tezpur University